Conference Registration

Call for Registration

University of Kent, Canterbury 22nd – 23rd April 2016


This interdisciplinary conference, hosted by the University of Kent, takes as its starting point the range of complex and contradictory engagements between masculinity and the developing metropolis since the beginning of the twentieth century. Throughout this period the metropolis maintained a paradoxical status as a place of liberation and possibility, but simultaneously as one of alienation, sin, and oppression. The conference will explore responses to the modern city in visual art, film, and literature and will elucidate what this media can tell us about masculinity as it both asserts itself and registers its own anxieties in subsequent representations of the city. Papers from delegates and keynote speakers will navigate these positive and negative conditions, which encouraged complex responses within the framework of masculinity.


Confirmed Keynote Speakers

Dr. Peter Ferry, University College Dublin

Dr. Hamilton Carroll, University of Leeds

Dr. Gabriel Koureas, Birkbeck, University of London



Postgraduate students / University of Kent Staff and Students: £15
Other researchers: £30

Conference Dinner (optional): £30

Registration will be required prior to the conference. Please click here to register and book your conference dinner.



Campus Accommodation

Premier Inn

Abode Canterbury

The Falstaff Hotel 


Getting to the University 

Rail/Bus/Road Directions

All hotels are in the city centre approximately a 20 minute bus or 10 minute taxi ride to the University. After arriving at the University please come to the main lobby of Keynes College to pick up your welcome pack between 9am and 9:30am on April 22nd.

For further enquiries, please contact us at Alternatively, tweet us @MascMetropolis.



James Finch (History of Art)

Hannah Huxley (Centre for American Studies)

Sara Janssen (Film)

Margaret Schmitz (History of Art)


With a special thanks to our sponsors: The University of Kent’s Humanities Faculty Research Fund, History of Art and Visual Cultures Research Centre, Aesthetics Research Centre, the Centre for Film and Media Research, and the Centre for American Studies.